About the Centre for Power Engineering Excellence

Key Staff

Professor Sarath Perera

Sarath graduated from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka with a BSc (Eng) specialising in Electrical Power. He obtained his MEngSc from the University of New South Wales and PhD from the University of Wollongong. He has been on the academic staff at the University of Wollongong since 1988. He has been active in electromagnetic modelling, machine design and analysis, in particular permanent magnet machines.

His current research interests are in the general area of power quality and in particular voltage fluctuations, flicker and voltage unbalance. He is a member of the Standards Australia Committee on Power Quality and is/has been closely involved with CIGRÉ C4 (System Technical Performance) working groups at international level. He is currently the Technical Director of the Australian Power Quality and Reliability Centre.

Emeritus Professor Vic Gosbell

Vic obtained his Ph.D. in 1971 from the University of Sydney for work on the asynchronous operation of turbogenerators. In 1972 he commenced lecturing at the University of Sydney where his research interests included model power systems, power system stability, HVDC transmission, power electronics and variable speed motor drives. In 1990 he moved to the University of Wollongong where he became foundation Professor of Power Engineering. His current research interest is power quality with an emphasis on harmonics, PQ survey measurements, and standards.

He is a member of the Standards Australia “Power Quality” Committee, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Australia and past Chairperson of the Australasian Committee for Power Engineering. He was the recipient of the M.A. Sargent Medal in 2008.

Professor Chris Cook

Chris graduated from The University of Adelaide with a BSc in 1971 and a BE in 1972. He received his PhD from The University of New South Wales in 1976. He then went to the U.K. to work for Marconi Avionics. After three years he returned to Australia to work for GEC as Technical Manager of their automation and control division.

In 1983 he joined UOW. In 1989 he became Professor of Electrical Engineering with research interests in industrial automation and power engineering. In 1990 he was involved in establishing, with Pacific Power, the Energy Efficient Research Centre Ltd., a nonprofit company which designs and installs variable speed drive and other power engineering systems. In 1996 he continued to develop joint Industry- University initiatives by assisting with the setting up and running of the ‘Power Quality Centre’ at UOW.

In 2002 he was appointed Dean of Engineering, and in 2013 he was appointed as Executive Dean, Faculty of Engineering & Information Sciences.

Professor Danny Sutanto

Danny received his B.Eng. and Ph.D. from the University of Western Australia in 1978 and 1981 respectively. Following his graduation he joined GEC Projects, Australia as a Power System Analyst. In 1982 he joined the School of Electrical Engineering at UNSW. In 1996 he joined the Hong Kong Polytechnic University as a Professor in Electrical Engineering.

In 2006, he joined UOW as Professor of Power Engineering. His main areas of research are power system analysis, power system economics, voltage stability, harmonics, power electronics and computer aided education. He was awarded the N. Svennson’s Award for Teaching Excellence in the Faculty of Engineering in 1994. In 2000, he was awarded the HK Polytechnic University President’s Award for Outstanding Performance in Teaching. He is also a member of the International Editorial Advisory panel of the International Journal “Electric Power Systems Research”.

Professor Paul Cooper

Paul is the Director of the UOW Sustainable Buildings Research Centre (SBRC). Paul has been involved in research on a wide variety of topics in sustainable buildings, energy systems, energy efficiency and fluid mechanics over the past thirty years. He holds a bachelor in Electrical Engineering, a masters in Science and Technology Studies and a PhD in Heat Transfer, all from Imperial College London. He joined UOW as a lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UOW in 1988 and has collaborated with colleagues in the Electrical Power group since that time.

Paul was the Head of the School of Mechanical, Materials and Mechatronic Engineering at the University of Wollongong prior to taking up his present appointment. Paul was also the Faculty Advisor and the lead academic on the Team UOW Solar Decathlon China 2013 campaign. This project culminated in Team UOW winning the competition with the highest number of points scored by any team in the history of all competitions around the world.

Professor Pascal Perez

Pascal received his PhD in Environmental Studies from Montpellier University, France in 1994. Pascal is a specialist of integrative infrastructure modelling, using various computer simulation technologies to explore complex interactions between social and technological components of infrastructure systems.

He has a 30-year experience in complex system modelling, first in France, then at the Australian National University and CSIRO. Pascal joined UOW in 2011. He currently is the Research Director of the SMART Infrastructure Facility. He is a member of the Technical Committee of the Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN). He is also a member of the Modelling and Decision Support Division of Simulation Australia and of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand (MSSANZ). Professor Perez has published 100 refereed papers and book chapters. In 2006, he co-edited with his colleague David Batten the book ‘Complex Science for a Complex World’ (ANU E Press).

CPEE Prospectus

CPEE Prospectus